Three UPLB Alumni among Outstanding Researchers named by DOST-NRCP
Posted on


Written by: Joselito Alonte Carteciano, NRCP

Three UPLB Alumni among the 10 outstanding researchers named by The National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST). The researchers will receive the annual Achievement Award on the first day of this year’s 81st NRCP General Membership Assembly that will be held on 26 and 27 of March at the Manila Hotel.

The recipients are:

Dr. Rosario G. Monsalud (BSA 1979, MSF 1985, PhDMicro 1999) for Biological Sciences. Dr. Monsalud is praised for her 33 years of active research on microbiology/biotechnology, particularly on mycorrhiza and nitrogen fixing bacteria as biofertilizers, on bacterial taxonomy and on microbial prospecting for enzyme producers, biocontrol, nitrogen fixers and phosphate solubilizers. Her research outputs were published in both international and local refereed journals, including in ISI-indexed journals.

Dr. Jose E. Hernandez (BSA 1977, MSA 1981) for Agriculture and Forestry. Dr. Hernandez is honoured for his outstanding leadership in the field of plant breeding that brought about the UPLB- Phil Rice Varietal Improvement Program in developing 15 new rice varieties for irrigated and rainfed lowland areas which actively respond to the problems of food security and bringing food to the tables of the household of less privileged and economically vulnerable. He is also recognized for the number of scientific articles he authored and co-authored, which were all published both in international and local refereed journals and serve as scholarly resources for students and research fellows alike.

Dr. Flaviana D. Hilario (MSAgroM 1983) for Earth and Space Sciences. Dr. Hilario is praised for her sustained commitment to excellence in delivering timely and relevant scientific knowledge in the fields of Climatology, Meteorology, Agrometeorology, and Remote Sensing for immediate and long-term benefits of the country. She is also recognized for her efforts at infusing a culture of research in her organization – DOST PAGASA, that resulted in the formulation of various critical climate change action plans in the Philippines, which help prepare the country for the uncertain climatic future.

Dr. Auxencia A. Limjap for Governmental, Educational, and International Policies.

Dr. Marie Corazon A. de Ungria for Medical Sciences.

Prof. Fortunato T. de la Peña for Engineering and Industrial Research.

Dr. Maria Cecilia G. Conaco for Social Sciences.

Dr. Eric A. Galapon for Physics.

Dr. Christina A. Binag for Chemical Sciences.

Dr. Reuben R. Cañete for Humanties.

To read the full feature article from NRCP, please click here.